Silent Treatment

The worst form of warfare used in all relationships, every single type of relationship is the Silent Treatment.  It systematically tears a person down to nothing.  It forces them inside their own head and makes them come up with all types of scenarios for why they’re being given this treatment and it can be devastating.

You think about everything you’ve said and done, what you should have said and done.  How you were wrong, how you’re not good enough, and the cycle begins.  The depressive cycle of self hate.  This is how the war is won.

This is how the other person breaks you.

For me personally it leaves me exhausted and hurt.  I try to stay stoic.  I can stay silent.  When the other person decides that they are ready to talk again I keep to one word answers and short/quick conversations until they address the situation and explain why they gave me the Silent Treatment to begin with.

Healthy communication in relationships is a key element to keeping your relationship going.  You have to say what you mean and mean what you say always.  The Silent Treatment doesn’t solve problems, it creates problems.  You should talk and keep the window always open for discussions when you need them.

Published by: allinduetime1

Beginning to write again after several years of being in the corporate world. A few of my posts are old stories I wrote in high school or earlier. Most are new. I like to write emotionally. I like to write things that are close to me or hit hard for me at different moments. I write everything, anything, whatever comes to mind. Some stories are true, some are fantasy. Mostly, I write for me, so that I'm relevant to me, so that I remember. Feel free to let me know what you think. I love feedback.

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

